Monday, August 24, 2009

#MusicMonday: Miley Cyrus' new EP

The Miley Cyrus machine is out to steal the Disney spotlight AGAIN. Let's look at what she's accomplished already over the past few months:

a) Demi and Selena have a Disney channel original movie (Princess Protection Program) too bad Miley upstaged that with the big screen release of Hannah Montana: The Movie. She also makes headlines while finishing up shooting The Last Song...written just for her by famed author Nicklas Sparks.
b) Demi releases her sophomore album and goes on tour. Miley releases not only the HM Movie soundtrack (with tracks from Rascal Flatts and Taylor Swift onboard too), but the Hannah Montana Season 3 soundtrack. Oh, and she performs at every award show under the sun, and is about to hit the stage at the Today Show Summer Concert Series before starting up a fall tour.
c) Selena Gomez releases the Wizards of Waverly Place Movie, and it's soundtrack... all timed perfectly with the September release of her debut solo album "Kiss and Tell". Miley decides to release a 7-track E.P. which, is the subject of this review.

"The Time of Our Lives" is NOT going to be the time of your life. It's 7 tracks were thrown together to coincide with Miley's new clothing line (did I forget to mention that in a-c above? Oh well, tack that onto the list). Miley and Max Azria's line for WalMart goes great with an E.P. being pimped by the major US retailer.
Out of the 7 songs you'll only hear 5 brand new tracks (I'm not counting "Party in the USA" because it's already been sold as a single.)
The E.P. features the following:
1. "Kicking And Screaming"
2. "Party In The USA"
3. "When I Look At You"
4. "Time Of Our Lives"
5. "Talk Is Cheap"
6. "Obsessed"
7. "Before The Storm (Live)"

Below is a sampling of all seven tracks. I'm not impressed. The only good thing I can say is that at least she didn't pull a Hilary Duff and release a "greatest hits" album to fill space (Hilary's "Most Wanted" was a waste of money and shelf space). Instead she's just going to leave fans spending too much on too little, and craving more.
Does Miley think her fans are going somewhere? Is that why she feels the need to put out as many albums as possible? Don't get me wrong, I love most of her stuff (MOST, her latter albums have come a long ways...I've ingnored anything with "Hannah Montana" attached to it), but I'd rather wait for a quality product that be subdued with this crap.
I just hope that when the full album finally drops these songs don't reappear on it.

No comments: